Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Book - Literature
The Oxford encyclopedia of American literature by
Publication Date: 2004
"This award-winning Encyclopedia surveys the vibrant terrain of American literature in 350 essays from leading scholars, encompassing the range and depth of American literary history from the 1600s to the present day."
Rooted in Barbarous Soil by
Publication Date: 2000
"Volume 3 in the four-volume California History Sesquicentennial Series, is the only book of its kind to examine gold rush society and culture, to present modern interpretations, and to gather up-to-date bibliographies of its topics."
Death Valley in '49 by
Publication Date: 2001-11-01
"It was first published in 1894 and has gone on to become a cornerstone of the history of western exploration. ... Death Valley in '49 is both an important book -- central to our understanding of early California -- and, with its compelling narrative, a joy to read."
Books - California Literature
The Literature of California by
Publication Date: 2000-
... is a landmark publication-- the richness of material, ranging from Native American origin myths to Hollywood novels dissecting the American Dream ... A lively introduction contextualizes each section, and concise biographical material is included for each writer. ... The Literature of Californiabroadens our sense of this region's richness, both past and present, offering new ways of perceiving history, community, and oneself.
A History of Californian Literature by
Publication Date: 2015-05-19
Blake Allmendinger's A History of California Literature surveys the paradoxical image of the Golden State as a site of dreams and disenchantment, formidable beginnings and ruinous ends. This history encompasses the prismatic nature of California by exploring a variety of historical periods, literary genres, and cultural movements affecting the state's development, from the colonial era to the twenty-first century. Written by a host of leading historians and literary critics, this book offers readers insight into the tensions and contradictions that have shaped the literary landscape of California and also American literature generally.
California Classics by
Publication Date: 1971
"The author's personal preferences for 31 works ... biography and criticism ....First serialized in Westways these chapters were widely hailed as a freshly original guide to California's living literature."
Tip: Generate Ideas in Search Tools
Melvyl @ UC Merced
Search Melvyl for books, articles and more from all UC campuses and beyond. Results will display according to best match (relevance). The UC Merced Library filter allows users to narrow to local content.
Search for a work, author etc. and look at associated Subject Headings.
If interested in an author, find that author's work or look at the author's identity page for themes.
Reference & Literature Databases
These databases can be useful for locating background information, primary sources (texts), and also secondary materials (literary criticism).
Provides access to a collection of reference books including specialized encyclopedias and dictionaries.
LION (Literature Online) (ProQuest)
See "Reference Works" section in the Results list.
Literature Resource Center (Gale)
A comprehensive resource for research on literary topics, authors, and their works. Gateway to Literature Resource Center, Twayne's Authors Online Series and Scribner Writers Online Series.
Oxford Reference Online
Search over 250 dictionaries and reference titles covering the complete subject spectrum: from General Reference and Language to Science and Medicine, and from Humanities and Social Sciences to Business and Professional.
Oxford English Dictionary
The accepted authority on the evolution of the English language over the last millennium. A guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over half a million words, both present and past. The OED traces the usage of words through 2.5 million quotations from a wide range of international English language sources.