Skip to main content
COVID-19 Library Dashboard
Get the latest information on the status of library services and space.
 Ask a Question

English 132 (Hatton): Doing Research

Human Rights and Literature

Accessing Full-Text

Full-text may be immediately available via a PDF or HTML page. If not, use the UCeLinks button. 

If UC-eLinks doesn't give you any options to read the full-text online, you can Interlibrary Loan the item using your UCMnetID. 

Search Tips

Quotation Marks

Use quotation marks to search for a phrase

  • "affirmative action"
  • "social media"
  • "political correctness"

 

Truncation

Use a symbol (* is the most common) to look for variant endings of a word

  • educat* will search for education, educator, educating, etc.
  • colleg* finds college, collegium, collegial
  • politic* will search for politic, politics, political, politicly, etc.

Some databases also allow you to use a symbol at the beginning or in the middle of a word

  • col*r will search for color or colour
  • *politic will search overpolitic, prepolitic, pseudopolitic, etc.

 

 

About Databases

A database is an organized collection of information. The library databases are online collections of information from published and copyrighted works, for example scholarly articles, newspaper articles, ebooks, music, and art. Some databases, like Academic Search Complete cover a wide variety of topics and disciplines. Other databases, like Africa-Wide Information, are subject-specific and have a narrower focus.

Recommended Databases

Which databases to choose will depend on your topic. View library databases by subject area then skim database descriptions to see which databases might have information on your topic. You can also find databases by format (maps, statistics, newspapers, bills, etc.)

You can also try searching multi-disciplinary databases like..



Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)
A multidisciplinary database with full text content in the arts, social sciences, humanities and sciences.




JSTOR
Search by subject or browse full text of more than 500 scholarly journals in social sciences, humanities, and sciences, to their earliest issues. Many titles extend as far back as late 19th or early 20th centuries; most recent 3-5 years not included.




Project Muse
Search by subject or browse full text of 100+ scholarly journals in the arts and humanities, social sciences and mathematics. Coverage begins 1995 or later, depending on the publication.