Sociology 215: Graduate Research Methods (Beattie - Spring 2024)

Citations of known published and unpublished works resulting from analyses of data held in the ICPSR archive.

ICPSR maintains a data archive of more than 500,000 files of research in the social sciences. It hosts 16 specialized collections of data in education, aging, criminal justice, substance abuse, terrorism, and other fields.

1900 - present. Supports data discovery, reuse, and interpretation. Provides access to datasets in multiple repositories from a single destination.

A web-based research tool that provides access to data from licensed and public domain datasets from 80+ source organizations. It contains more than 157 billion data points from 12.6 billion datasets available in charts, maps, views, rankings, time series and tables. All of the data have been standardized and structured, and are described with up to 37 fields of metadata. Previously Data Planet.

Full-text publications and statistical data from the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD), including country studies, forecasting publications, reports, and socioeconomic datasets. The statistics section includes data in the areas of international trade, telecommunications, foreign aid, migration, and many other categories.

Provides access to World Bank data through an interface that makes data easy to find and use.

1960 - present. WDI Online is a comprehensive database on development data covering more than 575 indicators, 225 countries, and 18 regional and income groups. The extensive collection of development data includes population, income, social, economic, financial, natural resources, and environmental indicators for more than forty years (starting in 1960 where data are available).

Eurostat provides the European Union with statistics at European level that enable comparisons between countries and regions. Useful data for governments, businesses, the education sector, journalists and researchers.