LibGuides: Writing 10 (Mingua-Lopstain) : Database Searching

Poll Question: Database Review

What definition best describes what a database is?

An academic collection of materials for research purposes: 2 votes (100%)

An organized, searchable collection of information: 0 votes (0%)

A web of information from multiple sources: 0 votes (0%)

An easily accessed information portal: 0 votes (0%)

Total Votes: 2

Recommended Databases

Search Demo in Academic Search Complete & UC Library Search (10 minutes)

UC Library Search This link opens in a new window
Locate books, articles, and more from all UC campuses and beyond in this unified discovery and borrowing system. Use filters and alternative search scopes to narrow your results. Connect via the VPN to view all content available to you. Log in to your account to request material.
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)
A multidisciplinary database with full text content in the arts, social sciences, humanities and sciences.
Opposing Viewpoints (Gale)
Covers contemporary social issues and provides articles, primary source documents, court-case overviews, statistical data, images, and podcasts that help students explore issues from multiple perspectives.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
A search engine providing access to both freely available and subscription based resources including articles, theses, books, preprints, abstracts, conference proceedings and technical .

Time to Search Independently

Independent Searching (20 minutes)

We now have time for searching in Academic Search Complete and/or UC Library Search to find information on our own research questions.

To Do: Before the 20 minutes are done ...

Identify a resource that you may use for your research.
Copy the citation in MLA style for the resource and add the citation to your row on the Google Spreadsheet.

We will re-convene after 20 minutes for our break-out rooms and a discussion of your search results.

5200 N. Lake Road
Merced, CA 95343
library@ucmerced.edu
(209) 228-4444