Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Library Reopening Dashboard
Get the latest information on the status of library services and space.
 Ask a Question

Writing 101 (Santillan): Find a Known Item

Finding Known Items

If you have a known item, especially a journal article, here are some places to search to locate the item.

1) Google Scholar

  • includes many articles and references to books, a quick way to check for article titles though it is not exhaustive

2)UC Library Search

  • includes a wide range of formats and goes beyond UC's collection
  • can Request easily from records in this catalog

3) Selected Database

  • If the article is from Psychology, you could try a document title searching in a database like PsycInfo OR Web of Science to locate the item.

4) eJournal Finder

  • includes coverage details for periodicals (newspapers, journals, and magazines)
  • use to determine if UC Merced has the periodical

LibWizard Finding a Known Item Tutorial

Finding a Known Item

Instructions:

1. Connect to the campus network via the VPN if you are off-campus.  You will need this connection to access one or more library databases while taking the tutorial.

2. Take the short quiz at the end of the tutorial.  Enter your email address AND your professor's email address. Afterwards locate the email confirmation. These emails often go to your SPAM folder, so be sure to check there.  It is often easiest to search in your email account for the phrase "Certificate of completion" to find your email confirmation.

3. You are ready! Click on the link below to start the tutorial. Follow the instructions on the left hand of the screen and, as directed, complete activities in the main screen (right).

Finding a Known Item >> https://ucmercedlibrary.libwizard.com/f/known-item