Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
COVID-19 Library Dashboard
Get the latest information on the status of library services and space.
 Ask a Question

CRES 110 - Interdisciplinary Methods in Critical Race & Ethnic Studies: Welcome!

A guide to library resources of use to Critical Race & Ethnic Studies undergraduate students, with an emphasis on locating materials in databases and other electronic resources.

Class outline

  • Welcome and introductions
  • A review of library basics
    • Discussion of library research in the era of COVID-19
    • Services and resources available to students during the pandemic
  • Using the library's catalog, Melvyl
    • E-books
    • Using the "Cite" option
  • Using the library to complete course assignments
  • Review of A-Z databases
  • Finding databases by subject
  • Demo of Academic Search Complete
  • Bibliographies
  • Archival documents
    • UC Merced Library Special Collections
    • Calisphere
  • Citation management and formatting
    • Citing sources
    • Review of bibliographic citation managers
  • Review and questions

Outcomes

By the end of this session, you should be able to:

  • Use Melvyl, the library's catalog, to find research materials available online full-text. These materials will include e-books, streaming videos, encyclopedias, and other materials.
  • Use the library's Special Collections archive and the University of California's digital archive, Calisphere, to find online archival documents.
  • Choose appropriate databases to find full-text articles from scholarly journals that are germane to your topic.
  • Find citations in APA format for your research materials.
  • Choose a bibliographic citation manager like RefWorks, Zotero, or Mendeley to help you manage your research.

Library resources in the age of COVID-19

Library services ARE available, even if the library space is temporarily closed!

A guide to library resources and services while socially distancing: https://libguides.ucmerced.edu/lib-services

NEW: Curbside pickup of some print library materials - http://library.ucmerced.edu/news/2020/curbside-pick-library-materials-now-available

Instruction & Outreach Librarian

Olivia Olivares's picture
Olivia Olivares
Contact:
Kolligian Library
KL 260
(209) 285-7742