Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

UC Merced Library Special Collections and University Archives

The San Joaquin Valley

The UC Merced Library is dedicated to collecting materials detailing the rich cultural and environmental history of the San Joaquin Valley. In addition to collecting and providing access to materials related to the wider San Joaquin Valley, we have also provided access to rich materials from Merced's history, such as the newsletters produced by the internees of the Merced detention center during World War II.

 [More information on this collection area.]

The Sierra Nevada

The UC Merced Library's location strategically places it as a prime location to collect materials related to the Sierra Nevada. We have engaged in partnerships with both Yosemite National Park and Sequoia and King's Canyon National Park to help provide access to items in their archives. We have also collaborated with the Merced County Courthouse Museum to make items from their collections available on Calisphere, such as items from their photography collection about the Yosemite Lumber Company.

[More information on this collection area.]

The University of California Cooperative Extension Archive

Beginning in 1913, University of California Cooperative Extension (UCCE) farm advisors have been located in every county of the state and have helped to shape agricultural practices through their work with local farmers, and the development of their communities through programs such as 4-H. In the fall of 2016, under a memorandum of understanding with the University of California’s Division of Agriculture and Natural Resources, the UC Merced Library began to assess, inventory, process, and provide access to historical materials held in county Cooperative Extension offices.

[View the project website]