LibGuides: Getting Started with Archives and Special Collections: Local History Resources

Local History Resources

Whether you're a seasoned historian, a curious student, or someone passionate about heritage preservation, these websites provide an additional accessible gateway to explore the intricate threads of our collective past from the region. These websites delve into the stories of pioneers, trace the development of architectural landmarks, and uncover the social movements that shaped communities of the valley.

San Joaquin Valley Resources

Below is a curated list that brings together a selection of the Local History Museum and a Historical Society which are dedicated to preserving and sharing the unique histories of towns, cities, and regions near to Merced.

African-American Historical and Cultural Museum of the San Joaquin Valley
This museum is dedicated to the African-American’s history and experience in the San Joaquin Valley.
California History and Family Research Room, Madera County Library
The California History and Family Research Room, located on the Second Floor of the Madera County Library, is a repository of early Madera County records and historical information that document the social, political, economic and cultural development of the Madera County area from the mid 1800's to present day
The Clovis Museum
This is a local history museum for the town of Clovis. The mission of the museum is to maintain and teaching the history of the Clovis, CA and Big Dry Creek area, and providing the population with information about their heritage.
Escalon Historical Museum
The Escalon Historical Museum is to preserve, protect, and maintain the history of the City of Escalon and its nearby rural environs.
Exeter Historical Museum
The Exeter Historical Museum is dedicated to preserving the history of the town of Exeter.
Fossil Discovery Center
Madera County in partnership with the San Joaquin Valley Paleontology Foundation created the Fossil Discovery Center. The center is the site of one of the largest middle-Pleistocene fossil excavations in North America. These fossils are of particular significance for California and the western United States because there are few sites known from this time period, especially with so many species present.
Fresno County Historical Society
Fresno City & County Historical Society has worked to bring life to the variegated tapestry of our region by collecting, preserving, and holding in public trust the stories, records and artifacts that document the rich heritage of the people of Fresno and the Central Valley of California.
Great Valley Museum
The Great Valley Museum inspires action towards discovering, appreciating, and preserving our natural heritage and environment. Science literacy and the unique Central Valley are promoted by engaging students, educators and the community through onsite and outreach programs
Gustine Historical Society
The Gustine Historical Society seeks to uncover, preserve and disseminate knowledge about the history of Gustine and the “West Side” of Merced County, California.
Kern Valley Museum
The Kern River Valley Historical Society has a museum and research annex that houses Historical Materials and a massive collection of books, documents, art, photographs and other items of interest to researchers and genealogists.
Lodi Historical Society
History of Lodi through promoting and encouraging an interest in the preservation of history, sites, and landmarks in Lodi.
Mammoth Museum at the Hayden Cabin
southern Mono County region and the collection, interpretation and display of artifacts pertaining to such history and culture.
McHenry Museum
The McHenry Museum is dedicated to the history of Modesto and Stanislaus County’s history.
Merced County Courthouse Museum
This museum houses 8500 square feet of exhibits, both permanent and rotating, which depict the history of Merced County as well as the settlers of the Great Central Valley. We are located in the county's three-story courthouse built in 1875, one of the oldest historical buildings in California. On the National Register of Historic Places, the architectural style of the building is Italianate, designed by State Capital Architect, Albert A. Bennett.
Newman Museum
The Newman Museum holds a wealth of treasures that speak to the historic nature of the West Side and its citizens. The museum's display cases are full of items of interest to the history buff including antique combs, a prized firearms collection, Indian artifacts from the local Yokut Indians, memorabilia from the First World War, and many items of an everyday nature from the past.
Patterson Township Historical Society
Patterson Township Historical Society is to preserve the history of the Patterson area and make the information about its past available through the museum and The Gateway,
Porterville Historical Museum
The Porterville Historical Museum was opened in 1965 as a direct result of the interest spurred by Porterville's Centennial Committee. Through diligent efforts of residents, Southern Pacific Railroad gave the city permission to operate a museum on the site of the now 1913 passenger station,
San Joaquin County Historical Society and Museum
The San Joaquin County Historical Museum reveals the rich heritage of the region, from the Miwok and Yokuts Indians, to the development of modern agriculture and to Charles Weber – the founder of Stockton and the first farmer in the area. Nestled on 18-acres in beautiful Micke Grove Regional Park, the atmosphere and the charm of the Museum encourages friendly family outings, picnic lunches and strolls through our many exhibits and buildings while you gain valuable knowledge of the rich history of San Joaquin County.
Tehachapi Museum
The Tehachapi Museum provides visitors with a true look back at early life in Tehachapi. Starting with Kawaiisu who arrived in this region about 1,500 years ago to the Errea House is the oldest house in the area, dating to the 1870s.
Tulare County Historical Society
The Tulare County Historical Society has been an active advocate for county history since 1944. Their mission is to promote interest in the history of Tulare County and preserve the heritage of our area for future generations

Sierra Nevada / Foothill Resources

Below is a curated list of additional resources providing comprehensive insights into the Sierra Nevada Mountain range and its adjoining foothills.

Angels Camp Museum
Angels Camp Museum is an international destination with more than 30,000 square feet of exhibits on Gold Rush history. Visitors can stroll through the beautifully landscaped historical park to explore extensive indoor and outdoor exhibits that include Mark Twain, ranching, mining, and minerals, and interactive exhibits that include a human frog jump where you can try to out-jump Rosie the Ribiter and gold panning just like the miners of 1849.
Calaveras County Historical Society
The prime purpose of the Calaveras County Historical Society is to collect and preserve for posterity the early history of Calaveras county.
California State Mining and Mineral Museum
California State Mining and Mineral Museum, in historic Mariposa, showcase mineral wealth, colorful history and geologic diversity as you view the official mineral collection of the state of California. The collection, which began in 1880, contains over 13,000 objects including mining artifacts, rare specimens of crystalline gold in its many forms, as well as beautiful gem and mineral specimens from California and around the world.
Central Sierra Historical Society
The Mission of the Central Sierra Historical Society & Museum, Inc. (CSHS) is to provide cultural and educational experiences to deepen the understanding of the human and natural history of the Sierra region.
Columbia State Historical Park
California Gold Rush drew prospectors to Columbia from around the world. Columbia was once known as the "Gem of the Southern Mines," and by 1853, was one of the largest cities in California. Unlike many other Gold Rush settlements that disappeared due to fire, vandalism and time, Columbia survived.
Consortium of Southern Yosemite Museums
This website brings together several different Museums located near Yosemite National Park to promote discovery.
Eastern Fresno County Historical Society
The major objective of the Eastern Fresno County Historical Society to preserve the history, antiques, artifacts and historical memorabilia of the eastern Fresno County area.
Mariposa Museum & History Center
The Mariposa Museum & History Center houses a large array of exhibits interpreting Native American, Spanish Settlement, California Gold Rush, Yosemite, and Mariposa County History.
Murphys' Old Timers Museum
Old Timers Museum educate the public about the rich history of the Murphys area, especially of the Gold Rush period and of the Native American and other cultures that once prospered here. The museum has an extensive collection of mining artifacts, period clothing, photographs, news clippings and journals of pioneer families as well as superb examples of Miwok and other tribal basketry and tools.
Northern Mariposa County History Center
The Northern Mariposa County History Center, often referred to as the Coulterville Museum, offers visitors a glimpse of the life and times of early California, from the early 1800’s through the boom days of the 1849 gold rush and the post gold rush era of the late 1800’s and early 20th century. Local residents, many third and fourth generation descendants of the original miners, ranchers and shopkeepers that settled the area, established the NMCHC in 1976 as a 501c3 charitable organization, securing the land, buildings, exhibits
Railtown 1897 State Historic Park
Railtown 1897 State Historic Park and the California State Railroad Museum Foundation is historic diesel locomotive, round house and historic buildings.
Sequoia & Kings Canyon National Park Archive
Sequoia & Kings Canyon National Park Archive has a limited number of resources digitized and searchable. Additional analog collections are hosted at UC Merced Library.
Sierra Nevada Logging Museum
Sierra Nevada Logging Museum, aim to convey the history of the logging and lumbering industry as it evolved in the region from the mid-1800s, before the discovery of gold, to the present day.
Southern Tuolumne County Historical Society
The Southern Tuolumne County Historical Society (STCHS) is a volunteer community organization dedicated to the preservation and celebration of the colorful history of the area “south of the Tuolumne River.” Groveland and Big Oak Flat were 1850s Gold Rush towns which later thrived as a gateway to Yosemite National Park.
Three Rivers Historical Society
Three Rivers Historical Society is a Volunteer run Museum dedicated to local history of the Town Three Rivers.
Yosemite Archives
The collection of historical records and manuscripts contain unique and important collections related to Yosemite's history, including the Frank Latta Collection, resource management records, historic park administrative records, and slide, photo, and film collections. The Yosemite Park and Curry Co. donated their archive of records, photographs and other documentary material to the park's collection.
Yosemite Conservancy
Yosemite Conservancy worked in partnership with the NPS to offer interpretive programs, train naturalists, launch art and theater programs, and publish books.
Yosemite Research Library
The Yosemite Research Library (YRL) is a specialized library focused on the human and natural history of Yosemite National Park. The library preserves Yosemite's documented history and serves the research needs of Yosemite National Park staff and partners. Collections include primary and secondary source materials.

5200 N. Lake Road
Merced, CA 95343
library@ucmerced.edu
(209) 228-4444