Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

UC Merced Library Special Collections and University Archives

Using Our Collections in the Classroom

The UC Merced Library supports the teaching mission of the University of California by encouraging the use of its collections in course curricula. We are available to provide instructional sessions covering a number of scenarios:

  • Using our collections to learn about primary sources, and how to find them
  • Visiting the Library for hands-on instruction on how to work with and handle archival materials
  • Subject or research area specific class sessions focused on particular holdings in our collections

Accessing our Collections

Physical materials in our collection are available for on-site research to students, independent researchers, faculty, and the general public. Researchers can explore the contents of our physical holdings by browsing the finding aids to our collections at the Online Archive of California prior to requesting access to materials. Additionally, we attempt to digitize our collections in their entirety in order to provide the widest possible access. Our collections can be viewed online at Calisphere.

If you're interested in viewing our physical holdings, please note that access to our collections is by appointment only. Visitors wishing to access the collections will need to follow the following guidelines:

  • Materials in our Special Collections and University Archives are non-circulating and cannot be removed from the research suite
  • Members of the UC Merced campus community will need to present their CatCard for access
  • Non UC Merced researchers will need to provide a current drivers license or passport
  • Visitors are free to use their personal laptops or tablets
  • Pens are not to be used while working with or near materials
  • Pencils can be provided if needed
  • No food, drink, or gum is permitted while working with materials
  • Personal items, such as bags or backpacks, are not permitted near materials
  • Cell phone cameras are permitted if flash is disabled
  • All materials should remain in their original order, and be returned to their original enclosures