Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Databases - primarily academic articles
These are some of the databases available that may be useful for your topic. Depending on the nation or culture you choose to investigate, there may be additional databases options. See the Subject database page.
A research tool for anthropological scholarship developed by the American Anthropological Association (AAA). Includes peer reviewed journals, newsletters and bulletins.
Anthropology Plus (EBSCO)
19th century - present.Indexes articles from over 2500 scholarly journals. Also indexes book chapters, reports, commentaries, edited works, and obituaries in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture, and interdisciplinary studies.
use Advanced Search and select "Articles" to remove Review literature
Historical Abstracts (EBSCO platform)
1954 - present. International database for research on history of all regions (except the U.S. and Canada) from 1450 to the current decade. In database, can select Choose databases to add other collections e.g. America History & Life.
America: History & Life
1964-present. International database for research on all periods of U.S. and Canadian history, including very recent years. In database, can select Choose databases to add other collections e.g. America History & Life.
Chicano Database (EBSCO)
Comprehensive bibliographic index for all types of material on Mexican-American topics. Provides extensive indexing from 1960s to the present; selective coverage back to early 1900s. Newer records include the broader Latino experience, including Puerto Ricans, Cuban Americans, and Central American immigrants.
World Scholar: Latin America and the Caribbean (Gale)
Includes contemporary and historical documents depicting the nature, integrity and culture of Latin America. Documents are in multiple languages. Includes historical and contemporary maps.
eHRAF World Cultures
documents connected to specific cultures
Full text of 100+ scholarly journals in the arts and humanities, social sciences and mathematics. Coverage begins 1995 or later, depending on the publication. Select "Articles only" to avoid reviews.
Web of Science
includes social sciences & humanities; use UC-eLinks to locate full-text
Find citations. Use the title OR UC-eLinks link / button to check for full-text access. Go to Scholar Preferences > Bibliography Manager > Show links ... > Select RefWorks > Save Preferences (for RefWorks export option)
Sociology: A SAGE Full-Text Collection
includes information on ethnic studies, consumer culture etc.
Politics & International Relations: A SAGE Full-Text Collection
1974 - present. Over 10,000 full-text articles from approximately 70 journals covering topics such as political theory, area studies, comparative politics and American government.
UC Library Search
Locate books, articles, and more from all UC campuses and beyond in this unified discovery and borrowing system. Use filters and alternative search scopes to narrow your results. Connect via the VPN to view all content available to you. Log in to your account to request material.
for background information
Provides access to a collection of reference books including encyclopedias, dictionaries, measurement conversions and more.
Oxford Reference Online
Search over 250 dictionaries and reference titles covering the complete subject spectrum: from General Reference and Language to Science and Medicine, and from Humanities and Social Sciences to Business and Professional.
Columbia Gazetteer of the World
Includes names, descriptions and characteristics of over 165,000 places in the world.
Ethnic NewsWatch (ProQuest)
Includes Ethnic NewsWatch: A History. Full text access to U.S. ethnic community newspapers, newsletters, magazines. Includes African-American, Arab/Middle Eastern, Asian-Pacific, European-American, Hispanic, Jewish, Native-American. Searchable in English and Spanish.
Newsbank: Access World News
Dates vary. Full-text content of more than 600 U.S. newspapers and 700 international sources. Local, regional and world news, including community events, schools, politics, government policies, cultural activities, local companies, state industries, and people.
Selected Topics with Comments
National Monument & Surrounding Controversies
- Find a monument which has sparked controversy.
- Note if it appears to be known by one or more names.
- e.g. Washington Monument OR Washington National Monument
- e.g. "National Holocaust Memorial" or "Memorial for the Murdered Jews of Europe"
- Note its location. e.g. There may be more than one memorial to Holocaust victims and survivors.
- Are there other terms that may help define this monument e.g. some unique architectural feature?
- What terms capture the concept of controversy? debate OR "public outcry" OR contested OR opposed OR fight
Example of Public Forgetting and Silences
- See news report for an example of what might be forgotten "Conflict Transforms Syrian Teacher into War Photographer"
- "KELZE: The camera is as equal as a weapon, and you need to document every single thing that's happening because back in the '80s, when we were in similar situation, nobody had an idea about what was going on. These generations are much more aware. So we are going to let the world see what's going on.”
- What might be referred to in the 80s? Try looking at background information in reference texts or books about a nation's history.
- e.g. Try a search in CREDO for Syria modern history. Is this helpful?
- e.g. Try a search in CREDO for Hafez Al Assad. Is this helpful? See International Relations title.
Now based on this based on this background information, might you have additional terminology to use in a search?
Commemorative Practice from a Nation
- What practice will you investigate? What is it called? Is it a different name depending on the nation that commemorates it? Is it known by more than one name?
- Rembrance Day (Canada) / Veterans Day (U.S) / Armstice Day / Anzac Day (New Zealand, April 25th)
- Day of the Dead / All Souls' Day (Mexico)
- What other terms are associated with these commemorations? e.g. identity, heritage, symbolism etc. Might they also be called rituals?
- The search tool you selected can greatly impact the results you retrieve.
- If you find a good article, see if that author has written other articles or books.
- For example, Stanley Brandes wrote an article (located in JSTOR) titled "The Day of the Dead, Halloween, and the Quest for Mexican National Identity".
- Search by his name in Melvyl. au: Stanely Brandes. Yes, he did write other books on this subject.
|Determine the key ideas and terms in your topic.
||Example: I am interested in the decolonization of Belize.
|Think of synonyms or related terms.
||decolonization / independence
Belize / British Hondurus
|Select useful resources to search.
||Databases > Subject > Anthropology (other subject areas may apply including World History, Sociology, Political Science)
|Construct a search strategy. Start with keyword searching.
||Many databases default to a keyword search field.
|Join similar terms with OR
||decolonization OR independence
|Join dissimilar terms with AND
||decolonization AND Belize
|Truncate a term (usually *)
||decoloniz* (to search for decolonized, decolonize, decolonization)
|Look for a phrase, using quotation marks.
||"political resistance" / "colonial rule" / "Malcolm X"
- Look for other terms and phrases to describe your topic from the literature you find.
- Depending on what you initially find, consider broadening or narrowing your topic.
- Take advantage of "controlled vocabulary" e.g. descriptors, subject terms when they are available.
- Some databases have "See related materials" links.
- Limit your serach if needed e.g. by date, by format, the field being search.
- Examine the bibliographies for relevant materials.
- Sort results by relevance if this is not the default. e.g. In some databases the default is by most recent date.
Locate library databases from the Databases tab on the QuickSearch box found on the library's home page. Options include:
Sara Davidson Squibb
Subjects: African American Studies
, African Studies
, Controversial Topics
, Criminal Justice
, Current Events
, East Asian Studies
, Engineering (Aerospace)
, Engineering (Biological)
, Health Sciences
, Middle Eastern Studies
, Performing Arts
, Science (General)
, Writing Studies
Full-text may be immediately available via a pdf or html page. If not, use the UCeLinks button to reach a request page. You can Interlibrary Loan the item using your UCMnetID.