Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
COVID-19 Library Dashboard
Get the latest information on the status of library services and space.
 Ask a Question

Student Assistants Research 101: Welcome!

Ask Us

24/7 Chat: Real-time chat services provided by library staff from various academic libraries.
 
 
Phone: Call the Library Services Desk at 209.228.4444
 
Facebook: Post your questions on the Wall of Discussion board.
 

Research Appointment: Send a request to meet with a librarian.
 

Roving Reference:  Ask a question of a Roving Reference student assistant.  Look for the red shirt.
 
Email: Email your question to library@ucmerced.edu

Access Library Resources from Off Campus

The VPN allows you to connect to the library's online articles and ebooks from off campus.

http://ucmercedlibrary.info/tech-help/connecting-from-off-campus

VPN

*Image courtesy of Design Services, UCI Libraries

Welcome to the Library!

Library Terms You Need to Know

  • abstract - A brief summary of the content of a book or article.
  • Boolean logic - using short words (AND, OR, NOT) to tell a database how search words related to each other. AND narrows a search.  OR broadens a search.  NOT removes a concept from a search. Examples: cats AND leukemia, cats OR felines, cats NOT siamese.
  • citation - A short description of a book, article or web page that has been quoted or used as a source. MLA style example:
       Burns, Tom, and Sandra Sinfield. Essential Study Skills: The complete guide to success at university. Thousand Oaks, CA: SAGE Publications, 2003.
  • controlled vocabulary/descriptors - Carefully selected words or phrases used to tag information for easy retrieval.  Example: pants may be the descriptor for trousers, slacks, dungarees, etc.
  • database - A searchable electronic catalog or index that helps you find articles and other library materials.
    • full-text - Refers to some databases that provide the entire text of the journal article as opposed to some databases which provide only the citation and abstract.
    • interlibrary loan - A free library service that allows you to borrow materials from other libraries.
    • journal - A scholarly magazine that contains articles written by professors, researchers or experts in a subject area.
    • truncation - A search technique in which you use a symbol to search for variations on a word. Example: educat* searches educate, education, educator, etc.

      Writing Center Pilot

      Are you ...

      • developing a thesis?
      • organizing your ideas?
      • incorporating evidence?

      Visit the Writing Center for an individual consultation with a peer.

      Hours & Location

      • 11am to 2pm in KL 260

      Appointments & Events

      • Two half hour appointments per week can be made at WCOnline.
      • Visit the calendar for upcoming Writing Center Open House events.

      people at table

      Accessing Full-Text

      Full-text may be immediately available via a pdf or html page.  If not, use the UCeLinks button to reach a request page.  You can Interlibrary Loan the item using your UCMnetID.