Skip to main content

Writing 112 (Fenstermaker): Welcome

resources for finding information on artists and their work

Introduction

This guide brings together resources related to the arts.  Included are search strategies to help you find the information you'll need for this course.

brushes

Image from Pixabay

Chat with a Librarian 24/7

 

Guide Summary

Use the tabs above to navigate this guide.  Below is a summary of the information located on each tab. 

Search Strategies:  includes three basic search strategies to use in databases

Finding Images: points to databases and additional resources for locating images

More on ARTstor: discover how to use this large image databases to locate high quality images

Databases - Art Focus: lists databases recommended for research in the arts field, including about artistic movements, painters, exhibitions, works of art etc.

Databases - Arts & Humanities: lists additional databases that may also refer to art topics and additional historical context around art topics

About Artists: provides information on how to find biographical information on artists and interviews

About Exhibitions: strategies for locating information on artist exhibitions or exhibition catalogs

Scholarly or Popular?: notes characteristics of popular and scholarly sources

UC-eLinks & Interlibrary Loan: information on finding full text through UC-eLinks and requesting resources through Interlibrary Loan (ILL)

Citing Images: resources for learning how to cited images in Chicago format

 

Library Instructor

Sara Davidson Squibb's picture
Sara Davidson Squibb
Contact:
Library Office 275D
209-205-8237