Skip to main content

Writing 10 (Mele): Welcome!

College Reading & Composition

Writing Center Pilot

Are you ...

  • developing a thesis?
  • organizing your ideas?
  • incorporating evidence?

Visit the Writing Center for an individual consultation with a peer.

Hours & Location

  • 12pm to 4pm M-Th in KL 260

Appointments & Events

  • Two half hour appointments per week can be made at WCOnline.
  • Visit the calendar for upcoming Writing Center Open House events.

people at table

Library Services

Session Outcomes

By the end of this session, you will be able to:

  • develop a strategy for researching a topic of interest.
  • recognize common similarities and differences between databases.
  • access databases and retrieve useful information resources.
  • capture citation information in MLA and APA format.
  • identify people and services for asking follow-up questions.

GOTS Credo Reference Tutorial

Outside Class Assignment Need VPN if completing from an off-campus location.

Credo Reference Tutorial
http://ucmercedlibrary.info/guide_on_the_side/tutorial/credo-reference

  • Complete the Credo Reference database online tutorial.
  • You will follow the instructions on the left of the screen and, as needed, complete activities in the main screen (right).
  • To receive credit, you must complete a short quiz at the end of the tutorial.
  • When prompted at the end of the tutorial, enter your email address and your instructor’s email address.
  • After completing the tutorial, use Credo to find an article on the topic of your choice.
  • Read the article carefully.
  • Make a list of key words (search terms) in the article that you could use to search for more information on this subjec

GOTS Academic Search Complete Tutorial

Outside Class Assignment Need VPN if completing from an off-campus location.
Academic Search Complete Tutorial
http://ucmercedlibrary.info/guide_on_the_side/tutorial/using-academic-search-complete

  • Complete the Academic Search Complete database tutorial.
  • You will follow the instructions on the left of the screen and, as needed, complete activities in the main screen (right).
  • To receive credit, you must complete a short quiz at the end of each tutorial.
  • When prompted at the end of the tutorial, enter your email address and your instructor’s email address.

Library Terms You Need to Know

  • abstract - A brief summary of the content of a book or article.
  • Boolean logic - using short words (AND, OR, NOT) to tell a database how search words related to each other. AND narrows a search.  OR broadens a search.  NOT removes a concept from a search. Examples: cats AND leukemia, cats OR felines, cats NOT siamese.
  • citation - A short description of a book, article or web page that has been quoted or used as a source. MLA style example:
       Burns, Tom, and Sandra Sinfield. Essential Study Skills: The complete guide to success at university. Thousand Oaks, CA: SAGE Publications, 2003.
  • controlled vocabulary/descriptors - Carefully selected words or phrases used to tag information for easy retrieval.  Example: pants may be the descriptor for trousers, slacks, dungarees, etc.
  • database - A searchable electronic catalog or index that helps you find articles and other library materials.
    • full-text - Refers to some databases that provide the entire text of the journal article as opposed to some databases which provide only the citation and abstract.
    • interlibrary loan - A free library service that allows you to borrow materials from other libraries.
    • journal - A scholarly magazine that contains articles written by professors, researchers or experts in a subject area.
    • truncation - A search technique in which you use a symbol to search for variations on a word. Example: educat* searches educate, education, educator, etc.

      Librarian

      Elizabeth Salmon's picture
      Elizabeth Salmon
      Contact:
      KL 275
      Library Office Suite
      209.631.6954
      Website

      Chat with a Librarian 24/7

       

      Upcoming Workshops