Skip to main content

WRI 10 (Finley) 2018: Welcome!

Session Outcomes

By the end of this session, you will be able to:

  • develop a strategy for researching a topic of interest.
  • recognize common similarities and differences between databases.
  • access databases and retrieve useful information resources.
  • identify people and services for asking follow-up questions.

Upcoming Workshops

Roving Reference - Peer Assistance

information iconLooking for information?

Our Rovers are ready to assist you with your library research questions.

Hours:

 Monday  7pm - 11pm
 Tuesday  7pm - 11pm
 Wednesday  7pm - 11pm
 Thursday  7pm - 11pm
 Friday  2pm - 5pm
 Saturday  2pm - 5pm
 Sunday  7pm - 11pm

For more information, visit Roving Reference.

Writing Center

Are you ...

  • developing a thesis?
  • organizing your ideas?
  • incorporating evidence?

Visit the Writing Center for an individual consultation with a peer.

Location

Hours

Appointments

people at table

Some places to start

The library has more than 300 databases where you can search for articles, images, audio files, videos, and more. The list of databases below is just a sampling of what's available. More library databases are available at http://library.ucmerced.edu/research/databases/subject-areas.

GOTS Academic Search Complete Tutorial

Outside Class Assignment Need VPN if completing from an off-campus location.
Academic Search Complete Tutorial
http://ucmercedlibrary.info/guide_on_the_side/tutorial/using-academic-search-complete

  • Complete the Academic Search Complete database tutorial.
  • You will follow the instructions on the left of the screen and, as needed, complete activities in the main screen (right).
  • To receive credit, you must complete a short quiz at the end of each tutorial.
  • When prompted at the end of the tutorial, enter your email address and your instructor’s email address.

Library Services

Librarian

Joe Ameen's picture
Joe Ameen
Contact:
Library Office: KL 267B
209-761-4512

Searching for Books

You may find a reference to a book title from a book review or a bibliography.  Search Melvyl to see if the book is in our local collection or if you can Request through Interlibrary Loan.

book cover

Access Library Resources from Off Campus

The VPN allows you to connect to the library's online articles and ebooks from off campus.

http://ucmercedlibrary.info/tech-help/connecting-from-off-campus

VPN

*Image courtesy of Design Services, UCI Libraries