Skip to main content

Think Like a Researcher: Instruction Resources: #9 Exploring Databases

Teaching Research And Information Literacy (TRAIL) Curriculum Resources for Writing 10

Outcomes

Course Learning Outcome:  Demonstrate information literacy and be able to work with evidence

Goal:  Familiarize students with databases for academic research

Specifically, students will be able to

  • Locate databases from the library’s website
  • Understand how to browse and search in databases
  • Become familiar with database functionality & tools
  • Discover how to access full-text

GOTS Academic Search Complete Tutorial

Academic Search Complete Tutorial

GOT tutorial green

Instructions:

1. Connect to the campus network via the VPN if you are off-campus.  You will need this connection to access one or more library databases while taking the tutorial.

2. Take the short quiz at the end of the tutorial.  Enter your email address AND your professor's email address. Afterwards locate the email confirmation. These emails often go to your SPAM folder, so be sure to check there.  It is often easiest to search in your email account for the phrase "Certificate of completion" to find your email confirmation.

3. You are ready! Click on the link below to start the tutorial. Follow the instructions on the left hand of the screen and, as directed, complete activities in the main screen (right).

Academic Search Complete Tutorial >> http://gots.ucmerced.edu/tutorial/using-academic-search-complete

 

Research Journal

n/a

Lesson: Database Tutorials

Tutorials

Students complete Guide on the Side Tutorials (GOTS) independently or together as a class.

  • Academic Search Complete (GOTS – Guide on the Side) Tutorial
  • Opposing Viewpoints (GOTS – Guide on the Side) Tutorial

Check for understanding questions are available at the end of each tutorial.

GOTS Opposing Viewpoints Tutorial

Opposing Viewpoints Tutorial

GOTS tutorial

Instructions:

1. Connect to the campus network via the VPN if you are off-campus.  You will need this connection to access one or more library databases while taking the tutorial.

2. Take the short quiz at the end of the tutorial.  Enter your email address AND your professor's email address. Afterwards locate the email confirmation. These emails often go to your SPAM folder, so be sure to check there.  It is often easiest to search in your email account for the phrase "Certificate of completion" to find your email confirmation.

3. You are ready! Click on the link below to start the tutorial. Follow the instructions on the left hand of the screen and, as directed, complete activities in the main screen (right).

Opposing Viewpoints Tutorial >>  http://gots.ucmerced.edu/tutorial/using-opposing-viewpoints

 

Reading

Head, Alison J. "Learning the ropes: How freshmen conduct course research once they enter college." Available at SSRN 2364080 (2013).