Skip to main content

Research Group: Ecology: Home

Websites

This list includes databases with a narrower focus.  They may be useful if your topic relates to the content area.

Web Searches

Try searching a specific domain in Google with Search terms site:.gov (or .edu)

Citing Sources

RefWorks

Doing Research > RefWorks & Citing Sources

  • RefWorks offers numerous citation styles.

Visit News & Events for upcoming workshops.

Process for Exporting Citations to RefWorks:

  • Select items of interest.
  • Go to the "Marked List" / "Folder" etc.
  • Select Download.
  • Often there is an Export to RefWorks option.

Databases

Search Strategies

Identify your key concepts and related terms.

Example: I am interested in what ecosystem services pollinators provide.

Select appropriate search tools and/or sites.

Databases > Subject > e.g. Natural Science > General Databases

Construct a search.  Start with keyword searching. Could be simple or using AND/Or (Boolean Operators).  Join similar terms with OR. Join dissimilar terms with AND

"ecosystem services" AND (pollinators OR pollination)

Skim citation and abstract information to determine the usefulness of the source.  Viewing an introduction or conclusion can be helpful too. Sometimes a snippet in available on the results lists.  You may have to click on the article titles, or click on a preview to see the abstract.
Revise search as needed.  Too many or too few results?  Is this a suitable search tool?  Am I retrieving relevant results?
"ecosystem services" AND (pollinators OR pollination) AND (honeybees OR "honey bees")
Consider searching for certain terms in specific fields. e.g. Title field

honeybees OR "honey bees" (Title) AND "habitat diversity" (All Fields)

Use options to Limit or Refine e.g. by Date or Document type (original research articles, review articles ...)
e.g. Science Direct > Advanced Search > Journals tab > has a Limit by Document Type section
Find a highly relevant article and look for "Related Articles".
e.g. on full record in Science Direct, see "Related Articles" box at right
View bibliographies for references to other resources or organizations.  Search for the known item or known organization.
e.g. I found a references in an article to this citation: Kremen, C., N. M. Williams, R. L. Bugg, J. P. Fay, and R. W. Thorp. 2004. The area requirements of an ecosystem service: Crop pollination by native bee communities in California. Ecology Letters 7:1109–1119.
Search for variations of a word using a truncation symbol (*) at the end of the terms.
e.g. pollinat* will search for pollinator, pollinators, pollination etc.
Look for a phrase, using quotation marks " ". e.g. "ecosystem services" / "habitat diversity"

Find a Known Item

Already have a citation for a book or article?  Try the following:

Search in Next Gen Melvyl Pilot.

Search in Google Scholar, especially for article titles.

If a journal article, check to see if we have the journal for that year.  Use e-Journals tab in QuickSearch.

Sample Citation:  Dramstad, W., and G. Fry. 1995. Foraging activity of bumblebees (Bombus) in relation to flower resources on arable land. Agriculture, Ecosystems & Environment 53:123–135.

Sample Citation: O’Toole, C., and A. Raw. 1999. Bees of the World. 192 pp. London: Blandford.

Sample Citation: Kremen, C., N. M. Williams, R. L. Bugg, J. P. Fay, and R. W. Thorp. 2004. The area requirements of an ecosystem service: Crop pollination by native bee communities in California. Ecology Letters 7:1109–1119.

How would we go about finding these?

24/7 Chat

Useful Links

Access Resources

Look for pdfs or html icons to access full-text immediately. 

Click the UC-eLinks button to access full-text.  You may be taken directly to the article, or you may be prompted to click on another hyperlink. 

If the UC-eLinks does not offer an online option, use Request to order through Interlibrary Loan.  Note:  If the item is a book chapter, search in the Next Gen Melvyl catalog first in case we have a print version.

If you Request an item (article, book etc.) your Library account is your UCMnetID.

Terminology

honey bee / honeybee / western honey bee = "apis mellifera" / European honey bee

"bee diversity"

pollination

pollinators / "pollinator diversity" /

habitat / "habitat needs" / "habitat diversity" / "habitat enhancement" / "habitat modification"

"ecosystem services"

native / wild / feral

managed / domesticated