Skip to main content

Political Science 140 (Woo): Home

Transitions to Democracy

Political Science Databases

Finding Databases

Accessing Full-Text

Full-text may be immediately available via a pdf or html page.  If not, use the UCeLinks button to reach a request page. 

You can Interlibrary Loan the item using your UCMnetID. 

Use Melvyl to Find Books & More

Librarian

Elizabeth McMunn-Tetangco's picture
Elizabeth McMunn-Tetangco
Contact:
KL 275
209-631-8359
Social:Twitter Page

Search Strategies

Identify your key concepts and related terms.

Example: I am interested in whether Guatemala's history and culture play a role in its status as a constitutional democratic republic.

Select appropriate search tools and/or sites.

Databases > See all databases > e.g. Political Science

Construct a search.  Start with keyword searching. Could be simple or using AND/Or (Boolean Operators).  Join similar terms with OR. Join dissimilar terms with AND

guatemala AND (history OR background) AND democra*

Skim citation and abstract information to determine the usefulness of the source.  Viewing an introduction or conclusion can be helpful too. Sometimes a snippet is available on the results lists.  You may have to click on the article titles, or click on a preview to see the abstract.
Revise search as needed.  Too many or too few results?  Is this a suitable search tool?  Am I retrieving relevant results?  
Consider searching for certain terms in specific fields. e.g. Title field

guatemala OR "south america" (Title) AND democratization (All Fields)

Use options to Limit or Refine e.g. by Date or Document type (original research articles, review articles ...) e.g. Social Science Combined Databases (ProQuest) > More search options > search by person, subject heading, source type, document type, language, etc
Find a highly relevant article and look for "Related Articles". e.g. on full record in Science Direct, see "Related Articles" box at right
View bibliographies for references to other resources or organizations.  Search for the known item or known organization. e.g. I found a reference in a book called "Cold War Anthropology" to a New York Times article by Peter Braestrup (1967) called "Researchers and Thai Rebels Fight: US Defense Unit Develops Antiguerilla Devices."
Search for variations of a word using a truncation symbol (*) at the end of the terms. e.g. democra* will search for democracy, democracies, democrat, democratic, etc.
Look for a phrase, using quotation marks " ". e.g. "democratization case;" "political system;" "cessation of hostilities;" "Guatemalan Revolution," etc

Finding eBooks

Ways to find eBooks in our collection:

1) Select the "Melvyl" tab in the Quick Search box.Enter in your search terms.

When your results appear, click on the box that says "eBook" from the list of options on the left.

Note: You may want to select the option to search only UC Merced's holdings

 

 

2) Select the "Databases" tab in the Quick Search box.

From there, select "See all databases"

Select "eBooks" list of formats on the right to see collections of ebooks.