Skip to main content

Materials Science & Engineering-118: Nanoscience/Nanotechnology and Societal Change

Engineering Reference Sources

Access Engineering (Selected Titles) 
Description: Selected engineering texts from McGraw-Hill. Includes titles focused on Electrical, Civil, Mechanical and Chemical engineering disciplines. Includes Perry's Handbook for Chemical Engineers and Marks' Standard Handbook for Mechanical Engineers.
 
ASTM Standards and Engineering Digital Library (SEDL) 
Description: Provides access to a large collection of industry-leading standards and technical engineering information. Covers a broad range of engineering disciplines, including aerospace, biomedical, chemical, civil, environmental, geological, health and safety, industrial, materials science, mechanical, nuclear, petroleum, soil science, and solar engineering.
 
ENGnetBASE 
Description: A collection of engineering handbooks.
 
Knovel Library
Description: A reference collection of almost 900 titles includes books from 30 Sci-Tech publishers. The main subject areas include Engineering, Life Sciences & Chemistry, and Materials. All titles are available in full-text and are searchable. Additional features include interactive tables, equation plotters and graph digitizers.
 
Patent Information
Description: US Patent & Trademark Office and more.
 

Search Tips

Citing Sources

Online tool for managing, storing, formatting, and citing resources used in the research process.
 
Online tool for managing, storing, formatting, and citing resources used in the research process. 
 
Website with information on using MLA, APA, and Chicago citation styles. 

GoogleScholar

GoogleScholar
Google without so much junk in it. 

Find articles from scholarly book and journal on any topic of scholarly interest. 

Especially useful when researching topics that cross disciplinary boundaries (e.g. nanoscience and societal challenges). 

 

Major Databases for Engineering Literature

ASME Digital Library (American Society of Mechanical Engineers)
Description: 1990 to present. A collection of materials from the American Society of Mechanical Engineers including ASME’s 23 Transaction Journals from 1990 to the present and Conference Proceedings from 2002 to the present.

COMPENDEX PLUS
Description: 1969- present. Compendex, via Engineering Village 2, contains over 9 million records and references from over 5,000 journals, conferences, and trade publications. The broad subject areas of engineering and applied science are comprehensively represented. 

Materials Science: A SAGE Full-Text Collection 
Description: 1994-present. Over 5,000 articles from approximately 15 journal titles.

Web of Science
Description: Provides multidisciplinary coverage of over 10,000 high-impact journals in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities, as well as international proceedings coverage for over 120,000 conferences. 

Databases for Researching Social Challenges

Any Topic
Academic Search Complete
A multidisciplinary database with full text content in the arts, social sciences, humanities and sciences. Very useful for newsworthy topics. Content includes articles from journals, magazines, and newspapers. 

Web of Science
Description: Provides multidisciplinary coverage of over 10,000 high-impact journals in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities, as well as international proceedings coverage for over 120,000 conferences. 

Energy
SciTech connect 

Provides access to publicly-available Department of Energy R & D technical reports, bibliographic citations, journal articles, conference papers, books, multimedia and data information. A consolidation of the Information Bridge and the Energy Citations Database search engines.

Food
Agricola - National Agricultural Library (NAL) Catalog 
Topics covered include agriculture, agronomy, animal science, aquaculture, biology, botany, breeding, crop management, dairy science, ecology, entomology, environment, fertilizers, pesticides, food agriculture, forestry, and horticulture.

FOODnetBASE
Provides access to expert guidance on food safety, quality assurance, processing, brewing, regulations, and microbiology. This collection offers information on latest functional foods, antioxidants, foodborne pathogens, and packaging technologies.

Housing
American FactFinder

A source for population, housing, economic and geographic data provided by the U.S. Census Bureau.

Sociological Abstracts
Abstracts journal articles, monographs, dissertations, conference proceedings, other research covering sociology, social work, and related social sciences. Also includes selected web resources.

Sociology: A SAGE Full-Text Collection
Over 12,000 articles from approximately 100 journal titles covering topics such as ethnic studies, sociology of sports, childhood, and consumer culture.

Medicine
PubMed
Includes more than 22 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites. Use UC-eLinks to link to full text when not otherwise available.

Toxicology Data Network (TOXNET)
A cluster of databases on toxicology, hazardous chemicals, and related areas from the National Library of Medicine. Some databases include data and full text. Databases include Hazardous Substances Databank, Toxics Release Inventory, Integrated Risk Information System, Chemical Carcinogenesis Research Information System, GENE-TOX from the EPA, TOXLINE, and NCI structures.

Sustainability
Atlas of our Changing Environment
Through illustrations, satellite images, and ground photographs, this interactive media depicts and describes humanity's past and present impact on the environment. The primary focus is on environmental status and trends over the last 30 years, in terms of both physical and human geography. View using Google Maps or Google Earth (download required).

GreenFILE (EBSCO)
GreenFILE indexes scholarly and general interest titles, government documents and related to the environment. Full text is available for selected titles and references are available for an additional 200 titles.

U.S. EPA Online Library System
A keyword searchable database of bibliographic citations related to the environment compiled by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency library network. Includes citations to standards for evaluating pollutants in the environment. A keyword searchable database of bibliographic citations related to the environment compiled by the EPA Library Network. Included here are citations to standards for evaluating pollutants in the environment.

Transportation
Bureau of Transportation Statistics
Database of U.S. Department of Transportation statistics covering a variety of transportation topics, including air and ground travel, safety, transportation economics, and more. 

COMPENDEX PLUS
Compendex, via Engineering Village 2, contains over 9 million records and references from over 5,000 journals, conferences, and trade publications. The broad subject areas of engineering and applied science are comprehensively represented.

 

 

 

Deputy University Librarian

Donald Barclay's picture
Donald Barclay
Contact:
UC Merced Library

Room KL 275 E

5200 N. Lake Rd.

Merced, CA 95343

209.201.9724
Website

24/7 Chat

UC Merced Library Links