MLAAPAChicago/TurabianCSE/Sciences
RefWorksZoteroEndNote WebMendeleyBibMeEasyBib
Paraphrase Vs. Plagiarism
This is the "RefWorks" page of the "Citing Sources" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Citing Sources  

Citation styles and tools for citing sources/managing citations
Last Updated: Feb 13, 2014 URL: http://libguides.ucmerced.edu/citing_sources Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

RefWorks Print Page
  Search: 
 

Import by Database: Instructions

These links provide instructions on how to import citation information from specific databases (ie, Web of Science, Academic Search Complete, etc)

 

Access Library Resources from Off Campus

The VPN allows you to connect to the library's online articles and ebooks from off campus.

http://ucmercedlibrary.info/tech-help/connecting-from-off-campus

VPN

*Image courtesy of Design Services, UCI Libraries

 

RefWorks Fast Facts

refworks logo

RefWorks is subscription tool that the library pays for. All UC Merced students, faculty and staff can create an account. RefWorks helps you:

  • Export citations from library databases and websites
  • Generate in-text citations
  • Create bibliographies
  • Share references with others (RefShare)
  • Communicate with software like Microsoft Word

Learn to use RefWorks by attending a workshop, using a Library Tutorial (see below) or with RefWorks Tutorials from RefWorks.

 

RefWorks Tutorials

Creating a RefWorks Account [ html ] [ pdf ]
This tutorial will help you create an account in RefWorks, a citation manager free to UC Merced students, faculty, and staff.

Importing References from Academic Search Complete to RefWorks  [ html ] [ pdf ]
This tutorial will show you how to import references from Academic Search Complete directly into RefWorks.

Importing References From Melvyl Into RefWorks  [ html ] [ pdf ]
This tutorial will show you how to import references from Melvyl directly into RefWorks.
Importing References from JSTOR Into RefWorks  [ pdf ]
This tutorial will show you how to import references from JSTOR directly into RefWorks
Importing References from Google Scholar Into RefWorks  [ html ] [ pdf ]
This tutorial will show you how to import references from Google Scholar directly into RefWorks.
Importing References from PubMed Into RefWorks  [ html ] [ pdf ]
This tutorial will show you how to import references from PubMed into RefWorks.
Organizing References in RefWorks  [ html ] [ pdf ]
This tutorial will show you how to organize, sort, and file your references in RefWorks.
Creating a Bibliography in RefWorks  [ html ] [ pdf ]
This tutorial will show you how to create a bibliography using RefWorks.

Installing the RefWorks Write-N-Cite Tool [ html ] [ pdf ]
This tutorial will show you how to install Write-N-Cite, a RefWorks tool that allows you to add references from your RefWorks account to your paper as you type it.

Using the RefWorks Write-N-Cite Tool [ html ] [ pdf ]
This tutorial will show you how to use Write-N-Cite, a RefWorks tool that allows you to add references from your RefWorks account to your paper as you type it.

Using RefGrab-It [ html ] [ pdf ]
This tutorial will show you how to use RefGrab-It, a RefWorks tool that allows you to import citation information from websites. Note: You will not be able to access all of RefWorks' functionality during this tutorial, and you will need to open links in new browser windows. Outside of the tutorial, all aspects of RefGrab-It should work properly. There is also a short (~2 minutes) tutorial about using RefGrab-It.

Selecting a Citation Output Style [ html ] [ pdf ]
This tutorial will show you how to select a citation style (ie, APA, MLA, Chicago, etc) to use in bibliographies created by RefWorks.

Entering References Manually  [ html ]
This tutorial will show you how to manually enter references into RefWorks.

 

Chat with a Librarian 24/7

RefShare

UC Merced RefWorks users also have access to RefShare, a module of RefWorks that allows you to easily share a folder of references -- or your entire RefWorks database.

See the tutorial below for more information:

RefWorks FAQs

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip