Skip to main content

Cognitive Science 130 (Warlaumont): Home

Cognitive Neuroscience

Methodologies

Use PsycInfo to search articles by methodology.  Watch the video tutorials for quick tips on how find empirical studies in PsycInfo.

Keeping Track of Your Research

  • Select items of interest in a database (often with a checkmark).
  • Select an email option, folder, or marked list etc.
  • Email the citations/references to yourself.

Accessing Full-Text

When looking at articles in a database, full-text may be immediately available via a PDF or HTML page. If not, use the UCeLinks button. 

Here's an example of an article you would need to use UC-eLinks to get the full text:

Improving Underperforming Schools

If UC-eLinks doesn't give you any options to read the full-text online, you can Interlibrary Loan (ILL) the item using your UCMnetID. Here's an example of an article you would need to ILL:

Human Services Professionals' Awareness of Human Trafficking

Access Library Resources from Off Campus

The VPN allows you to connect to the library's online articles and ebooks from off campus.

http://ucmercedlibrary.info/tech-help/connecting-from-off-campus

VPN

*Image courtesy of Design Services, UCI Libraries

Databases

Scholarly Articles: Original Research or Review?

Databases such as PsycInfo tend to include scholarly literature which may also be referred to as "peer-reviewed". Scholarly articles can be either "original research" or "reviews".

Original research articles are based on an experiment or study with a hypothesis. They will have a methodology section that tells how the experiment was set up and conducted, a results or discussion section, and usually a conclusion section. Example of an original research article?

Finnish Prenatal Study of Autism and Autism Spectrum Disorders (FIPS-A): Overview and Design

Review articles are written to bring together and summarize the results/conclusions from multiple original research articles/studies. They will not usually have a methodology section, and they generally have very extensive bibliographies.

Tipping the Balance of Autism Risk: Potential Mechanisms Linking Pesticides and Autism

Search Strategies

  1. Start with keyword searching if looking for a topic.
  2. Use the fields (e.g. author, titles, keyword etc.) especially if you have pieces of a citation.
  3. Browse results and search titles, abstracts and descriptors for additional terminology.
  4. Consider using specific descriptors in your search.
  5. If you want to limit to a specific methodology such as longitudinal study or qualitative study, select these options in your search.
  6. Consider using additional limiters e.g. population or age.  These are available in PsycInfo.
  7. In PsycInfo, consider going to Search Tools > Thesaurus > and look for your area of interest.  This may give you broader and narrow terms to use.
  8. Look at the bibliographies in useful article.  Consider tracking down those articles listed in a bibliography.

Searching in PubMed: Tips & Tricks

Use MeSH Database (controlled vocabulary) from the National Library of Medicine

  • Select MeSH from the search drop down menu (rather than PubMed) or use the MeSH Database link under More Resources
  • Enter the common term, e.g. nosebleed, flu, heartburn,
  • If more than one term is listed, select the desired term with a check mark
  • Or, select subheadings that match your topic interest
  • Click Add to search builder
  • Search for additional terms if desired, e.g. outbreak, causes, therapy, etc.
  • Click Add to search builder
  • Click Search PubMed

Limit in a variety of other ways. e.g. by population, language, type of article, age group etc.

Find related articles

  • From search result list, see Related citations link under each item
  • From individual article records see links to articles under Related citations or click Related Citations under All links from this record

    Subject Guide

    Sara Davidson Squibb's picture
    Sara Davidson Squibb
    Contact:
    Library Office 275D
    209-205-8237

    Find a Known Item

    Some Strategies

    1.  Look for the article title in Google Scholar.  Try the title OR UC-eLinks hyperlink.

    2.  Look for the article title in Melvyl.  Look for the UC-eLinks button.

    3. Look for the journal title.  Select the e-Journals tab on the library home page.  See if the journal is available.  Is the date you need available?

    4. You may be able to find it in a major database IF it belongs to a specific subject area.

    UC Merced Library Links