Skip to main content

UCM Library Planning & Assessment: Collections: 2012-2016

Area of Strategic Focus: Collections

The library will provide quality information resources to support users’ teaching, learning, research, and service.

Goals Status Resources Needed Challenges SAF Connection
Maintain:            
Quality collections to support academic programs. Operational: Assess, maintain, improve. Campus funding that grows with programs and populations. Inflationary pricing. Encouraging stakeholders to think about information resources in non-traditional ways. All
Responsive, convenient discovery and access to information resources. Operational: Assess, maintain, improve. Collaboration with computer scientists, instructional technologists, and industry. Complexity of scholarly information. Reliance on vendor systems. TBD
Create:        
Partnerships with faculty to build collections supporting new and growing programs Operational: Assess, maintain, improve. Campus funding that grows with programs and populations. Inflationary pricing. Encouraging faculty stakeholders to think about information resources in non-traditional ways. TBD
Capacity and formal agreements to enable sharing of special collections. Strategic aim. Political will and support: UC system and beyond. Intractable attitudes about library collections and sharing of information. Protective ownership vs. access. TBD
A local, retrospective collection to address academic program needs. Implementation contingent on collection funding. One Career Staff (LP 4). Sustained campus funding. Acquiring funding from campus. Identifying core titles. Obtaining some older works. Balancing print format with digital availability. All
Sustainable models for open-access scholarly publishing in collaboration with UC Libraries. Implement by 2017. Funding and administrative support for open access publication. Obtaining funding. Publisher-driving legislation. Changing faculty attitudes about publication and metrics for promotion & tenure. Few incentives for faculty for less traditional forms of publication.

TBD